Karaoke…So easy, even a cat can do it!"

Karaoke!  So easy, a cat can do it!

When I was living in Central New York, my wife and I attended a wedding reception/barbecue that included, of all things, a karaoke bar.

I never participated in karaoke in my life.  Nervously, I trotted along to the stage to find a song I was familiar with.  I chose the song we danced our first song at our wedding, Luther Vandross’ “Here and Now”.   I belted the song and my voice never cracked.  I received a standing ovation, afterwards. 

Talk about a new experience?

For those you you who don’t know, karaoke is a form of interactive entertainment or video game, in which, singers sing along with recorded music (and/or a music video) using a microphone and public address system.

Karaoke music is typically a well-known pop song minus the lead vocal. The lyrics are usually displayed on a video screen, along with a moving symbol or changing color and/or music video images, to guide the singer. Karaoke machines, or “boxes” are relatively inexpensive, costing less than $200 dollars.   In Asia, most notably, Japan, where it originated, karaoke bars are common.

Would you believe there’s a website that helps you become a karaoke DJ?  KaraokeTutor.com has all the tools you need to make a career in karaoke.  Not that I want to become one.  Let’s just say that karaoke is strictly for amatures!

About smoothjazzandmore

I'm a TV producer and an Internet radio broadcaster. I also write for my blogs (An Op-Ed Blog and a Football Blog) here at WordPress.
This entry was posted in Karaoke, karaoke machines, Karaoke music, Karaoke Tutor, singing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

