VOTE!!!

Even though I now live in Canada, I’m still very much involved in the political process on my home country. I voted by absentee ballot two weeks ago. I made the decision to continue making a difference as an American to elect the people I feel will reflect the values of my changing country.

I’m very alarmed at the candidates running for office this year. Many campaigns on the Republican side have resorted to flat our hate, making President Obama the prime target. I’m also concerned about the amount of money being funneled anonymously by corporations towards helping defeat candidates they don’t like. Rolling the clock back to 1955 is not an option, nor is buying an election.

When I was in 8th grade, I voted in an election for class president. I thought about voting for one candidate, but at the last minute changed my mind. The result, we had co-presidents elected. My vote mattered. If I didn’t change my vote, there would have been one winner.

Fast forward to 2007. I decided to run for Vice President in my local union. I campaigned hard and thought I made inroads with my fellow members. Unfortunately, I lost the election by three votes. By chance, three people in my shop didn’t vote. That was the difference in my election.

If I can vote from foreign country, there’s no reason why you can’t take 30 minutes and vote in tomorrow’s election. Anyone not voting tomorrow automatically gives up their right to complain about what’s happening in the country.

Voting is still the single most important act anyone can do. Do it!!

P.S. – When you do vote, Remember!!!

About smoothjazzandmore

I'm a TV producer and an Internet radio broadcaster. I also write for my blogs (An Op-Ed Blog and a Football Blog) here at WordPress.
This entry was posted in Congress, Mid-Term Elections, Voting Rights. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

