Why Does NBC’s Jeff Zucker Still Have A Job?

I’ve lost count of all the bad moves NBC executive Jeff Zucker has made in the last 7 years.

From not compensating for the end of great shows such as Will & Grace, Frasier and E/R, to interrupting the closing ceremonies of the Winter Olympics for a really bad reality show. And then there the Jay Leno debacle!

I thought I’ve seen it all from Zucker, but apparently, I haven’t. The latest bonehead move by Zucker is the cancellation of the long time crime drama, Law & Order.

Granted, the 20 year old show has lost it’s luster and hasn’t been on the top 20 list for quite some time. But it’s clearly better programming than what NBC has put together the last 5 years.
Not giving this show a proper sendoff is a smack in the face and was done only to save money. Which begs the question, “Why does Jeff Zucker still have a job?”

The only reason I could think of is that Zucker is owed a ton of money from NBC. It would be ridiculous to cut Zucker loose from his contract. But then again, they gave Conan O’Brien a nice fat severance after they screwed him over!

If it were you or me, we would have been fired a long time ago for incompetence. But in NBC/Universal’s case, if you’re doing a piss poor job, you’re guaranteed a ton of money!

I wish I would have learned that in school instead of studying hard and working my ass off! Or maybe I should get the agent Zucker has!

About smoothjazzandmore

I'm a TV producer and an Internet radio broadcaster. I also write for my blogs (An Op-Ed Blog and a Football Blog) here at WordPress.
This entry was posted in Cancellation, Jeff Zucker, Law and Order, NBC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

