My Brief Life As A Salesman!

The fear of rejection.

One of the hardest jobs I ever worked at was as a telephone sales representative. I had two stints as a salesman.

The first in 1987, working as at a radio station where I lasted three weeks. The second was in 1994, where I was much more successful, but lasted four months.

The three week gig was pure hell. We were tasked to sell 30 second spots that sponsors would endorse for their anti-drinking and driving campaign.

Our lead source, the yellow pages. Many of the leads were strictly cold calls and most people who answered the phone were not happy to hear from us. There were stacks upon stacks of used books with crossed out merchants who refused our services. Over and over, people would hang up before our pitch would finish. It was miserable.

The second job was selling 1-800 numbers with a major telephone company. The sales leads were much better, as they were current customers. I was able to get some sales and did get paid a commission, but not enough to make a dent.

The life of a tele-sales rep is rough. You have to have the ability not to fear rejection. Living on the edge, solely for commission is a life I could never do. I will admit that those sales reps that are successful can pretty much sell anything, from life insurance to hair brushes.

It’s the life of a bottom-feeder, something I would never do again in my lifetime.

About smoothjazzandmore

I'm a TV producer and an Internet radio broadcaster. I also write for my blogs (An Op-Ed Blog and a Football Blog) here at WordPress.
This entry was posted in financial services leads, Insurance, morgage, sales, salesman. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

