Finally! I Can Get ESPN In Canada!

ESPN

For the last nine months, I’ve been itching for my ESPN fix up here in Canada.

To put it bluntly, TSN sucks!

It’s just not cutting the mustard when it comes to sports news. Don’t get me wrong. TSN does an outstanding job with its hockey and CFL coverage. But when it comes to everyday sports news and other programming, it lacks in depth, originality and personality.

Watching Sportscentre every evening is almost like watching pain dry. TSN’s sports anchors are downright dull. You just can’t wait for the show to end. It leaves a little to the imagination.

Last night, I was trying to find the Giants/Panthers pre-season football game. As usual, TSN doesn’t show it to their Canadian viewers. So I put in a search for “Giants” on my Twitter page under “Trending Topics”.

I found a link for a streaming feed of the football game on Justin.tv. What’s even better, it’s an ESPN feed being broadcast 24/7. That means, I can watch ESPN Sportscenter every night.

This is nothing new. The technology for streaming online has been available for some time now. I was able to watch the funeral for basketball and smooth jazz great Wayman Tisdale online back in May. I was also able to watch roller skating championships on a similar online streaming feed in July.

It’s a fast and convenient way to watch video.

Like it or not, streaming video content is the wave of the future. In fact, it’s here now, whether regular TV and cable programmers like it or not!

Now the ESPN streaming feed is probably going to be shut off in the future because of rights and territorial problems. But I intend on milking this for what it’s worth.

Anything other than ESPN is just plain inferior.

Now all I have to do is look for F/X and watch Nip/Tuck online!

About smoothjazzandmore

I'm a TV producer and an Internet radio broadcaster. I also write for my blogs (An Op-Ed Blog and a Football Blog) here at WordPress.
This entry was posted in ESPN, Sports, TSN. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

