American Idol Contestant Confesses What I Already Knew, "The Show’s Rigged!"

American Idol

I never got into American Idol. I always said there was something fishy about the show. My theory was that this was a way for the recording industry the peddle some innocent bystander into making millions of dollars for them and then throw them away like it was nothing.

It looks like my theory has come to past. A former American Idol contestant made charges that the show is, in fact, rigged. Ju’Not Joyner, a contestant from season 8 went public with his concerns during a online chat with fans. He also alleged that the contracts contestants are forced to sign are unfair.

Ju’Not claimed he was cut from the competition, and not invited back for the Wild Card round (a shock to many viewers wowed by his memorable “Hey There Delilah” performance) because of his concerns regarding the fairness of the Idol contract.

“It’s a fixed thing if I ever saw one,” he said, with many of participants in the online chat session responding with shock and disappointment.

He went on to say, “they pay for our lawyers to negotiate against their lawyer (which is BS). They make us COLLECTIVELY choose the lawyer, then they act like it’s in our best interest. Craziest stuff I’ve ever seen. I have a son to feed. I HAD to ask questions and know what I was signing. Plus I write my own songs and I needed to know details…Some folks were like, ‘Just shut up and sign on the dotted line.’ I know better than that…I wasn’t complaining…I was asking basic legal questions. There’s a huge difference between the two.”.

This I’m not surprised at! The recording contracts artists are “forced” to sign are very one-sided. An artist will be binded into recording at least 7 CD’s for the record label, plus the company can drop them if sales aren’t what they’re supposed to be. In many cases, the record industry will only give artists a small percentage of fees from music they’ve recorded. Many music artists wind up having to tour to get some of the same money the recording industry made. This is one reason why the RIAA is so ‘gung-ho’ about getting the Performance Royalty Act passed in Congress.

He continued: “I definitely believed that affected my time on the show. They didn’t like the fact that I wouldn’t sign ‘just anything’ and that other contestants were coming asking me questions. So I think they ousted me the first chance they could get…Even if I didn’t get in on votes…how did I not get picked for the Wild Card show when I received comments from the ‘judges’ that were better than most of the contestants who were picked for the Wild Card show?”

Ju’Not also theorized that he was not selected for the top 13 because he refused to let the shows producers exploit his sympathetic “back story” of being from “the hood.” “They wanted me to put that out to the world and expose my personal business for ratings. I wouldn’t do it.”

Now, there have been some singers that have made the grade (Carrie Underwood, Jordin Sparks & Kelly Clarkson) and their talent is without question, remarkable. However, I’ve always maintained that the show is nothing but a “prop” for the recording industry and the FOX network, developed solely for ratings and marketability.

Allegations of rigged voting have been previously made by former Idol contestants anonymously in a book called, Stage 46: The Reality Of Reality Television. The confession by Ju’Not Joyner of vote rigging just confirmed my suspicions.

The question now is, does anyone even care?

About smoothjazzandmore

I'm a TV producer and an Internet radio broadcaster. I also write for my blogs (An Op-Ed Blog and a Football Blog) here at WordPress.
This entry was posted in American Idol, fraud. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

