Watch Out For Fake Websites That Peddle Hard Drive Cleaners!

A Trojan Horse.

Eight months ago, I encountered problems with the hard drive on my computer. Turns out my hard drive contracted a Trojan. My driver contracted the “Vundo” Trojan, an annoying adware program that downloads and displays pop-up advertisements. It is known to be installed by visiting a Web site link contained in a spammed email.

A Trojan horse, or Trojan for short, is a term used to describe malware that appears, to the user, to perform a desirable function but, in fact, facilitates unauthorized access to the user’s computer drivers.

The term comes from the Trojan Horse story in Greek mythology. Trojan horses are not self-replicating which distinguishes them from viruses and worms. Additionally, they require interaction with a hacker to fulfil their purpose.

The hacker need not be the individual responsible for distributing the Trojan horse. It is possible for hackers to scan computers on a network using a port scanner in the hope of finding one with a Trojan horse installed.

Once installed, a Trojan is very hard to take off. In my case, I received a message stating my computer may be infected. Do I want to scan to make sure? Unfortunately, I clicked “Yes”, thus installing the Trojan on my hard drive. My only solution was to re-install everything, which was a time consuming task.

The majority of websites are legitimate. But its always important to have the most updated anti-virus software available to protect computer drivers.

Whatever you decide to do, don’t make the same mistake I made.

About smoothjazzandmore

I'm a TV producer and an Internet radio broadcaster. I also write for my blogs (An Op-Ed Blog and a Football Blog) here at WordPress.
This entry was posted in computer drivers, driver, drivers, Trojan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

