Now I Know Why I Was Attacked By A Hummingbird!

There’s something about spring that has me smiling all day.

This week, I was out doing the flower beds and the shrubs. The area looked like a war zone, all the long twigs and branches hanging out. My mother-in-law confessed the shrubs hadn’t been worked on for nearly 20 years, so it was time for a proper clean up.

We were half way through the trimming, when a small bird came out the brushes. It was rather aggitated because of the commotion we started with the clean up and the bird flew straight for my head. I moved out of the way just in the nick of time and the bird left the area.
Then, I looked over at the brush again. There stood a small bird’s nest (shown above). It wouldn’t be more than the size of your hand.

We were very fortunate that we didn’t work any further, because in the nest was a small egg (shown left). It wouldn’t be no bigger than a jelly bean. Later, it was determined that the bird who attacked me was a Hummingbird.

I’ve had a number of people who didn’t believe it. But when you think of it, they’re no different than any animal who wants to protect their young.
The area we live has dozens of birds that make our home, their home. We’ve set up feeders situated all around the house. But this was the first in recent memory that we’ve been able to get pictures of a hummingbird nest.

We also have a Robin’s nest (shown left) in the back of our home. We discovered the home while cleaning up.

As you can see, there’s a family of baby robins, four in all. They were screaming about when they’re going to be fed, and they were kicking up a storm.
The parents of the baby Robins were looking for food. They would hang out on the lawn in the back of our house. They’ll keep a close eye on my dogs, making sure they don’t get too close.
Here’s a better picture of the babies. I took these pictures, all the while making sure I wouldn’t be attacked again.

These pictures are precious reminders of how sensitive our environment is. We should all be careful of what we work with.

Being a “city guy”, never being exposed to nature most of my life, I’m much more appreciative I what I didn’t have.
About smoothjazzandmore

I'm a TV producer and an Internet radio broadcaster. I also write for my blogs (An Op-Ed Blog and a Football Blog) here at WordPress.
This entry was posted in Birds, Environment, Humnmingbirds, Robins. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

