Local 211 Clambake 2009: A Reflection

This year was the first Clambake that I wasn’t an active member with NABET/CWA Local 211. I went there with my wife with a bit of nostalgia in my heart.

When I left my job, I resigned my position as Chief Steward. However, I elected to keep my membership current. I felt it important to keep my relationship with the local union going, in spite of leaving the country.

Six months before, I was in a position to take over the position as the local’s President. The reason for going to all those regional board meetings every year was to prepare for the transition of being president of the local.

But I never anticipated losing an important part of my family. My father-in-law was the rock of my wife’s family. Gordon Brundige, or “Pops” as I called him, gave my wife and my mother-in-law all the love in the world. The loss had me prioritize my future goals.

I had a number of people come up to me today, asking if I was happy with where I am now (in Canada). Though I’m still unemployed and I’m still looking for work, I still was able to do something viable in my life.

I’ve either started or finished important projects I’ve been meaning to do, such as complete two of my screenplays, start writing my novel and upgrade my Internet radio station’s website. For that, I am happy with where I am now.

But there’s a part of me that still wishes I could help those union members that are enduring hardships due to the decision making of those in charge at the three TV stations in Syracuse. There were days when I would hear about layoffs and furloughs happening.

I feel powerless, knowing that people I’ve worked with over the years will be out of a job in a couple of weeks, the victim of changing business models. Their work being shifted out of state. Those in charge call it, “a business decision designed to make our TV stations run more efficiently.”

I call it, “Greed!” Simple and plain!

This blog is very much a place where I can give my thoughts about how those in charge are making questionable decisions. They can only wish that forums like this are silenced, hoping that no one would be able to call them out on their questionable decision making.

It’s a consolation for everything that has happened over the last few years…and a warning for those who continue to make questionable business decisions that you will be outed!

About smoothjazzandmore

I'm a TV producer and an Internet radio broadcaster. I also write for my blogs (An Op-Ed Blog and a Football Blog) here at WordPress.
This entry was posted in Canada, NABET-CWA, Syracuse, Unions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

