CBC Cuts Means More Job Search Trouble!

CBC

Things in the broadcasting world up in Canada just got worse for me.

The Hollywood Reporter just announced in their Internet edition that the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), Canada’s public broadcaster is laying off nearly 800 staff due to a budget shortfall. Here’s the original report. The cuts are scheduled to take place later this spring.

Unlike their counterparts (Global & CTV), the CBC receives a portion of their yearly budget from the Canadian government. The downturn in the economy has led the goernment run company to scale back programing and implement a hiring freeze during the last 5 months.

Today’s announcement comes as no surprize. The broadcasting job market in Canada has dried up like a prune. In recent weeks, CTV has laid off an additional 150 workers and shut down news operations at it’s “A” Channel stations. Other companies such as CanWest Media, Rogers and Corus has not had any significant job postings over the last few weeks.

This has led me to look for different avenues to look for work. This week, I put my name in for temporary work outside my career field. I’ve had to cash out the last of my 401k to pay important bills that are outstanding. In April, I have an appointment with a career councelor to see what my options are for work.

I’m wondering if broadcasting was the right career decision for me.

When I was 14, I wanted to be an urban planner. I wanted to design neighborhoods where families could live work and play. Develop recreational and industrial parks. Design commercial strips where people could shop and business could thrive.

When I was younger, I used to map together cities on paper, complete with shopping centers, parks & schools. I was all set to learn about the fundamentals of architecture that would lead me into that career path.

Then one day, a couple of teachers came to urban design class. They were asking for participants in their television workshop. They administered the closed-circuit television station within the junior high school. The teachers mentioned, “It was an opportunity to learn all about how the broadcasting business works.”

I signed up thinking it would be a nice thing to do. Looking at it now more than 30 years later, I think I’ve made a big mistake with this career move. With the way things are going with the industry, maybe it wasn’t such a good idea…at least right now it isn’t!

About smoothjazzandmore

I'm a TV producer and an Internet radio broadcaster. I also write for my blogs (An Op-Ed Blog and a Football Blog) here at WordPress.
This entry was posted in Broadcasting, Job Search, TV News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

