CTV Cuts Staff!

My TV news job search in Canada just got allot tougher. I sent a bunch of Demo DVD’s to all the local TV stations to find a job in my field.

I didn’t hear from them back. Then I read this newser.

CTV, Canada’s second largest broadcaster, cut over 100 jobs last week. Officials at CTV blamed falling ad revenues over the lost jobs. The company has also imposed a hiring freeze.

This is just one of many cuts that took place this year. Canwest recently cut 560 jobs, or about five per cent of its workforce, including 210 at Global Television and its other TV operations.

Canadian Broacating Company (CBC) is looking at cutting it’s workforce in the coming months and the Canadian Press (CP) also is under a hiring freeze.

The broadcasting business is in worse shape here in Canada. With very few ownership groups around, competition is scarce.

It only makes my job search allot tougher.

About smoothjazzandmore

I'm a TV producer and an Internet radio broadcaster. I also write for my blogs (An Op-Ed Blog and a Football Blog) here at WordPress.
This entry was posted in Economy, TV News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

