First Week Here in Canada!

They say you can’t go home again.

In my case, I really can’t go home again. At least, not until I receive my official immigration card in the mail.

I’ve been here in my new home for 10 days now. I’ve been getting rather bored over the last few days.

I’ve finally unpacked the last few boxes from my move and it’s starting to feel like home. I’m currently house-sitting my three rug-rat bastards while my mother-in-law is in Vancouver, British Columbia for two weeks.

If you’ve seen Pugs before, you know that they can be cute at first, but they can get into trouble if you don’t watch them carefully. Seriously, I do love them so don’t take offense.

As for the job prospects, I’m sending out the first of many demo DVD’s to prospective TV stations. The job market is rather flat, given the state of the world economy. They had layoffs at the local TV stations a few years ago, so there’s a competitive base here. Will see if the fish bite.

In the mean-time, I’m taking advantage of NABET-CWA’s free training on Lynda.com so I can make myself useful somewhere else. I’m also considering taking French classes at the local college in town. They say, when in Rome, or in this case Ottawa, which is a bilingual city.

I still get my news from Central New York by going to Syracuse.com and my old station, WSTM.com. You probably seen from my previous blog that SU finally fired G-Rob. Well, thank goodness! It’s about time!

Speaking of sports, I’m getting rather annoyed by the lack of college sports on Canadian television. I was shocked when I discovered Darts being televised instead. WTF??

I also found Canadian college football on one of the sports networks. Talk about a big transition! If you compare this to the NCAA, I would consider it, Division 4. Half the stands are full! There’s no marching bands on the sidelines, and the mascots are lame!

WHERE’S OTTO THE ORANGE WHEN YOU NEED HIM!!

I just found out that I can SUBSCRIBE to the US College sports package for $99 dollars. I guess I’ll have to bite the bullet and see my college teams that way!

So, that’s my life so far in a nutshell. I’ll let you know what my job efforts end up like.

About smoothjazzandmore

I'm a TV producer and an Internet radio broadcaster. I also write for my blogs (An Op-Ed Blog and a Football Blog) here at WordPress.
This entry was posted in Canada. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Week Here in Canada!

  1. Ian says:

    Hi from Victoria,B.C. My YouTube show @ Insight Tonight,is about injustice, good things on the web, and of course Smooth Jazz or as Richard Elliot says Contemporary Instrumental music. I’m trying to get my friend’s Story into the public domain(show#2.pt.1.)he was railroaded into this city’s 1st ever Stalking conviction,no jail time but a criminal record. Rachel Marsden has stalked 4 different people and upon completion of probation,won’t have a criminal record. In the Male.female polemic, females get benefit of the doubt.If I can ever get this promulgated,bad apples here in media/justice system will get the only real justice,i,e, poetic justice. Good Health, R.S.V.P

Leave a Reply

