My Vote For Obama!


President-elect Barack Obama stands on stage along with his wife Michelle and daughters during an election night gathering before 150,000 people in Grant Park, Chicago.

I had to get to the election polls early. Word had it there was going to be almost an 80% percent turnout for this election.

I got to the polls an hour before work. To my surprise, it was rather brisk…in and out without any problems.

As I waited for my turn in line, another black man walked out of the voting booth.

He had a smile as big as the eye could see. He acknowledged me as if to say, “This is our time!”.

I walked into the voting booth and just looked at the candidates names…”Barack Obama, President of the United States.”

I wanted to savor the moment. Never In my lifetime did I thought this moment would happen.

“This couldn’t be real!”, I said to myself. “I was voting for a black president.”

I pulled the lever and saw the check mark next to Obama’s name. It was real! It was as real as it can be!

I started to cry as I stood there, but I held my composure. I thought about the souls that were lost to hatred and bigotry in the 19th & 20th centuries.

One who was lynched just for whistling at a white woman, three who were shot and killed just for registering people to vote, 4 little girls who were killed just going to church.

They would be “martyrs” for change, a change in this country needs to shake the very core of it’s existence.

I walked out and breathed a sigh of relief, knowing that Obama would have my support.

It would be official later that night. A mandate by myself and 60 million other Americans who wanted change for America.

Now, with the help of Barack Obama, this country can finally start to bridge the gap between the masses.

Man, what a feeling!

About smoothjazzandmore

I'm a TV producer and an Internet radio broadcaster. I also write for my blogs (An Op-Ed Blog and a Football Blog) here at WordPress.
This entry was posted in Essay, Presidential Race. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

